My First Airbnb Experience – Review

As some of you may be aware reading my previous posts that I stayed in an Airbnb for the very first time during my weekend away at Dublin.

I initially had reservations when I made my booking. My older bro told me about his negative experiences with Airbnb such as multiple cancellations and double bookings and advised me AGAINST . It was so contrary to the overwhelmingly positive reviews from other travellers on the world wide web.

Naturally my head was thrown in doubt but everyone’s life experiences are different and decided to go for it. If the Airbnb stay isn’t go well it was 100% on me.

Hosts and Hospitality

Thankfully that was far from the case, from the moment I was wondering around the streets looking for where exactly my accommodation was to the very last footsteps out of their place. I the. I met Shay, one of my two Airbnb hosts, when he spotted and called out for me before I was starting to walk like a headless chicken looking for his place. I then met Margaret, my other Airbnb host, who was literally just prepping my room as I walked in.

The whole situation was like I had been away for years and my own mum was cleaning my bedroom and setting it back to how it was before I took off for a long and my dad couldn’t wait for me to get back after a very long time. The feeling I had was one of being welcomed and noticed.

Throughout my whole visit Shay and Margaret were very friendly and helpful. They always took time to make me feel at home and give me the low down on the hotspots in Dublin. This was much like my B&B hosts at Naples and to see that kind of consistency was reassuring.

They were both well-educated about their local area and they made sure I understood Beaumont and Gaelic culture more than I did when returning to the UK compared to when I arrived in Ireland. It’s great that they taught me about Beaumont because the more rural, surburban areas of cities [your Beaumonts for example] rarely get the recognition they deserve from travellers/tourists (I’m saying it with my chest) and sometimes I am guility of the same thing too so it’s nice to be able to go away and at least communicate it to everyone else.

Fun fact: Airbnb is Based in Dublin.

Bedroom

My sleep for the one night I stayed was amazing! Had no trouble falling asleep. The mattress and beddings were clean and immaculate. No complaints whatsoever and proving that the rush Margaret was in for resetting the duvets and beddings was well worth it.

It’s roomy enough to have all your bedroom essentials fitted  and there was a sense the the room belonged to me . Without saying much about my bedroom at home (which I’m grateful for), I’d even go as far as to say it’s the kind of bedroom I’d ideally want to have myself: work desk with a chair, massive book shelves, carpeted flooring etc. There was also a plug extension available so it was a nice safety to have in case I had left my travel adaptor at home.

If there was one issue, and it’s very small, it was the fact suddenly the WiFi cut off from 11:30 in the night. Possibly cos the family switch off everything from the mains around that time daily to reduce costs on electricity bills and be more economical so I understand. I’m here for it!

Final Word

Personally it was always going to feel a bit strange and anxious staying in the home of a stranger for the first time in my life, not counting flat shares at Uni and as part of summer camp jobs. However my first Airbnb experience was a resounding success.

Going back and thinking about my bro’s experiences, this is an example of never perceiving that one’s life experience is like the bible or quran on someone or something. It may have just been a string of bad luck he had with them.

Rating out of 10: 9.5/10

You or a friend can get £25 off your first booking with Airbnb if yourself or them sign up to it via the link here or Airbnb image at the bottom of the post.

Don’t forget to keep updated through Twitter and Instagram. Visit my new Facebook and Pinterest pages and give it some likes and pins.

Johnny | Johnny’s Traventures

air-bnb2

25 thoughts on “My First Airbnb Experience – Review

    1. Cheers! It’s a must if you travel regularly, or at least once if not so much. It’s more sociable and you never know who you’ll come across. For booking into one you’ll even get some travel credit if you sign up via the link on this page 😉

      Like

  1. I love Airbnb stays. You get a chance to stay with locals who knows some of the best places to visit that are not the usual tourist attractions. It’s such a great option while you’re in a town that doesn’t have a hotel or hostel and it’s usually less money but with the same amenities as a hotel. Glad you had a great experience

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you and I absolutely concur with you everything you said. Hit the nail on the head, it actually ives you a sense that you’re a local in the city rather than a tourist or visitor of some kind 😉

      Like

    1. Thank you! Honestly I wouldn’t say it’s hit or miss in my opinion, a lot of travellers who have used it are mostly positive about the hosts but I am surprised that there are very very few disappointing reviews.

      Like

    1. Definitely do! It’s worth a try, they’re a cheaper, economical alternative to hotels and a lot of travellers have only positive things to say. Look into getting some travel credit for your first stay too if you sign up via the link on this page

      Like

  2. Am glad you had a good first experience. I love Airbnb but sometimes things can go the wrong way. Its great when the hosts are so helpful.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. What started out as a great idea – also a bit ‘travellers supporting travellers’ – unfortunately became a major problem in many big cities: People are renting flats just to sublet them. In densely populated cities like e.g. Lisbon, this causes problems in the housing sector. I find one should be a ‘good tourist’ and keep that in mind – for the wellbeing of all of us.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I still have yet to do Airbnb, but I have only heard good things. I need to take the leap as traveling with 5 can be costly. Glad you had a great experience

    Liked by 1 person

  5. We tend to be more VRBO or small B&B sort of travelers — which with a small B&B often it is a bit like and Airbnb. Glad your experience was a good one. I have also heard some real nightmares. Always do your due diligence and research.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. It’s always nice when things work out according to plan! I’ve only stayed at an Airbnb once, which was lovely btw…but honestly some of the places on their site are just too dodgy for me. Glad it worked out for you and that your hosts were awesome!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I use Airbnb quite often, usually provides the most reasonable prices around. Never had it go wrong, to be honest. Hosts were very helpful.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Airbnb is always my first choice when travelling. I love the freedom it offers me as opposed to a hotel. Nice to read an article from a fellow long suffering Gooner.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I am so glad you had such a great experience!! I love using Airbnb’s they work out great for me and I just had one bad experience out of probably 100 stays!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment