Story Time: My First Jetskiing Experience – Review

When I was in Majorca for my birthvacation I braved the choppy and ruthless waters of the Earth and did jetskiing for the very first time in my life.

I’m an avid adrenaline seeker. I just love watching ane doing things at such high speed and limits like Motorsport and going to theme parks. A holiday abroad is incomplete without me doing something new or out of the ordinary.

For the 2nd installment of Story Time from your travel boy Johnny is telling you all about the first time experience and I promise you all it’s going to be a much more positive story unlike the last one.

The Buildup

The place I’d be getting was called Jet Ski Center Arenal. Its based at Palma beach in a little adventure sports club known as Club Nautic S’Arenal. Being 16km away from central Palma it took me a half hour journey on the bus to get there.

From the docks or port there was a 20 minute trip on the speedboat I had to do with a few others within the group to get to the jet ski station where all the jetskis were. Quite rocky, though but helped me get pumped up for what was to come.

Jetskiing Time! Me vs Mother Nature

Once I had taken all my clothes off but my shorts and put I was all suited up – and ready to bring the party to the sea.

I was so tentative when getting onto the jetski. All I kept was thinking was not falling into the water. From whar I remember I think I was even crawling like a crocodile on the boards that led to the jetskis just to make sure I didn’t lose my balance.

The power and torque of the jetski took me aback I’m not gonna lie. I struggled to get to grips with the controls and handling of the jetskis.

A part of me relished the and thought “Wow this is so surreal, I’m loving this!” the other part of me as I got constantly splashed with salty, sour water in my face and body “Am I gonna live through this?” “Holy s***”

Thankfully the instructors were around to support me. My problem was not being smooth and steady with the throttle pedal. When I started doing that I started to ride a lot more smoothly and consistent and that fear of me falling off my ski was slowly banished from my mind.

They did have to stop me a few times as I had started to get too close to the station. Clearly being too close to home is too close for comfort!

I loved the way the water was rapidly streaming from the jetski. It gave me the sense of thrill I’m always searching for.

Physically and mentally I was finished at the end of it all! At times I was even stumbling backwards, like my legs were reattached by a surgeon the other way round.

Customer Service

I was happy with my treatment from the Jetski Center Arenal staff. They looked after me well enough and were professional with the way they conducting. From a company that had 15 years worth of jetski experience you expect nothing less. They all seemed chilled on the main boat too, just enjoying the scenery and exposure to the beautiful weather in front of them.

Definitely got my money’s worth.

To sweeten things they offered me 30 photos on a memory card they took of myself racing around the mighty waves of coastal Majorca. It was €15 altogether for the photos. €60 I paid to rent the jetskis for myself for 20 mins. The photos were an incredible, crystal-clear souvenir to take home and show family and friends.

Final Word

Overall, my first time jetskiing was an awesome experience and was to my expectations. It allowed me to take something memorable from my time in Majorca. Anytime I know I’m going anywhere near jetskis – I won’t hesitate to ride one again

Have you been Jetskiing before? Or done any other water activities? Share some of your stories and I’m looking forward to reading them.

Don’t forget to check out the socials (Twitter, Instagram, Facebook and Pinterest). Follow and subscribe to my blog for your weekly and biweekly content! And I shall leave you with more pics 😉

Johnny | Johnny’s Traventures

20 thoughts on “Story Time: My First Jetskiing Experience – Review

    1. Oh have you not? You should just go for it the next time you’re going abroad. It’s really exciting and I can’t wait to hop on a jetski again! Have you done any other water sports before?

      Like

  1. I’d love to experience this one day. My husband did this on the last day of our holiday in Antigua and loved it, but I was expecting so I didn’t think it was the best idea to jump on with him!

    Roxie | thebeautifulbluebird.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Natonya. Hahaha same, if I came off on the jetski at anypoint I felt I would’ve been down for the count 😂 Everyone needs to be out of their comfort zone if they’re gonna experience or learn something new at some point. Scuba Diving is next!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment